What is an SIS on my DWI Case?
In Missouri traffic law an SIS is a "Suspended Imposition of Sentence" where you are placed on
probation. In an SIS you waive your right to a trial and Plead Guilty in Court to some offense (DWI) but the Conviction is
not entered onto your criminal record. Instead the Plea is placed in your file for the term of your probation. If you successfully
complete all of the terms of your probation then you will not ever receive a conviction and the criminal case is closed.
If you violate the terms of your probation you will face a probation revocation hearing. As a result of the
probation revocation hearing the Judge may decide to revoke your probation, enter the previous Plea of Guilty into the record,
and sentence you, as your right to a trial will have been previously waived as a part of the SIS.
What is SATOP?
In Missouri traffic law SATOP is Substance Abuse Traffic Offender Program. If your driver license has
been suspended or revoked by the Deptartment of Revenue due to an alcohol related offense you must complete SATOP in
order to reinstate your license. SATOP consists of 2 parts. There is an evaluation and interview session during which a counselor
will determine what type of class you will be assigned to.
How Do I Reinstate My Driver License After
a DWI Suspension or Revocation
In order to reinstate your Missouri driver license after a traffic law DWI suspension you must:
1) complete SATOP and submit proof of completion to DOR (Dept. of Revenue);
2) pay a reinstatement fee
SR-22 insurance and maintain proof for two years from the date of suspension/revocation (if you are over 21 years old).
*If you are convicted of a 2nd DWI it is now mandatory for the court to order an ignition interlock device
on any vehicle you drive for a period of 6 months after your suspension.
If your license was revoked for 1 year or more you must additionally take and
pass the driver's test again.
What is SR-22 insurance & where can I purchase it?
In Missouri, SR-22 insurance is a form from an insurance company that proves that your motor vehicle has
This form is
filed with DOR (Dept of Revenue).
How do I remove a DWI from my redord?
In Missouri, a 1st DWI may be removed (expunged) after a period of 10 years if you do not
receive further DWIs. The Court must be Petitioned in order to request a DWI be removed from your driver record. If you receive
more than 1 DWI then the DWIs cannot be removed from your driver license record.
Minors "Abuse & Lose"
In Missouri, "Abuse & Lose" is a special set of laws that applies to minors. If you are
under 21 years of age the court can order a suspension of driving license privileges for 90 days for a 1st offense and
1 year for a 2nd offense of the following types of offenses:
· Any alcohol related traffic offense
· any offense involving the possession or use of alcohol while operating a motor vehicle
any offense involving the possession
or use of drugs
any offense involving the alteration,
modification or misrepresentation of a driver license
· a second offense involving the possession or use of alcohol by someone under 18 years of age